Venezuela closes its borders with ABC islands

Dit item is gearchiveerd op 20-03-2019.

ORANJESTAD - Prime Minister of Aruba mr. Evelyn Wever-Croes informed on 20 February 2019 that Venezuela has closed the air and sea border between the province of Falcon and the islands of Aruba, Curaçao and Bonaire.

Vice-President Delcy Rodriguez said that Venezuela's relations with the islands of Aruba, Curaçao and Bonaire are being reviewed and that the closure of the border is in effect for an "indefinite period". This means that no air and shipping traffic is possible between Venezuela and the three islands.

According Rodriquez, the closure has to do with the intention of the United States, Curaçao and the Netherlands to send humanitarian aid to Venezuela from the island.